Quarter Life Crisis 

There is such a thing as a “quarter life crisis”. This coined phrase seems dramatic and made up, but as I venture through my twenties it really doesn’t seem made up at all. If anything, it perfectly sums up the lingering anxiety that I feel like most twenty-somethings, even thirty-somethings  experience at one point or another. 

What is it you might ask? It’s basically like having a mid-life crisis but in your twenties/thirties. But how could you possibly be having a crisis at such a young [adult] age? Well, there’s pressure from our parents and society, and let’s not forget about the social media posts that we choose to expose ourselves to on a daily basis as a reminder of all the things we are not doing or feeling while someone else is. Mix that all together with some uncertainty and unhappiness and you’ve got a quarter life crisis.

As a kid, I always thought I would have it all figured out in my twenties. My parents seemed to have their shit together, but as I’m about to embark on my twenty-seventh birthday in a few months, I’m beginning to wonder if my parents did have it all figured out like they made it seem to be. Hmm…

For me, my quarter life crisis hasn’t been a full blown meltdown or anything extreme, but I have had serious moments of uncertainty when it comes to my career. 

This past year, I debated the idea of going back to school to study something different. I like what I’m doing now, but I don’t feel fulfilled with it. Honestly, it scares me that I don’t feel 100% content with my job or my degree. A part of me feels stuck like I’m in a hole that I can’t get out of when in reality I can. It’s hard seeing others around me happy with their careers and be so highly rewarded for it when I haven’t felt that way yet. I’ve job searched (and currently I am still on the hunt) to see if maybe a different work environment could lift my spirits, but I haven’t been blessed yet with a new opportunity. I have tried to branch out at my current job to dip my hands in other aspects of daily operations just to gain experience and build my resume. Ultimately, this is where I came up with the idea to further my education in something a bit more complex than what I’m already doing but it’s overwhelming. You know, what if I realize half way through my studies that it isn’t right for me or what if it is and now I feel like I wasted my initial degree. It’s just a never ending cycle of what ifs and uncertainty that has been driving me insane. Ah!

I think we all have these moments of panic and while I’m still trying to figure out my “crisis”, I know things will work out in the end. I’m a full believer in everything happens for a reason. It sucks to have to wait but waiting is just half the battle. The other half is not giving up on yourself even when you want to. Nothing happens over night. At this moment, I’m just taking it one day at a time because that’s only way I now how to approach this personal predicament. If I let myself get too focused on the unknown road ahead of me that’s when the panic and anxiety kicks in and that’s just not how I want to feel all the time. I refuse to let something I’m not currently comfortable with control me or dictate my daily attitude. For now, I’m trying to make the most of what I am blessed with when it comes to my career and hope that with determination, dedication, and motivation it WILL work out for the best. 

Feel free to share in the comments if you’re currently struggling with something in your life, no matter your age. I know I’m not alone in feeling overwhelmed and would love to hear how others have handled their moments of panic.  

2 thoughts on “Quarter Life Crisis 

  1. danzak44 says:

    Hey, I’m not alone, yeah! I’m 52 and going through something similar. I was watching a Creative Live class last night with one of my favorite Portrait photographers, Sue Bryce, and she said that we are pretty much our own wall, that we need to own what we want and walk towards our ultimate goal. I’m really trying to take that in, and own it! I hope you find what’s missing and go for the goal you want in life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Megan Janina says:

      That’s a GREAT way of thinking and I totally agree. I’m doing my best to try and push myself toward opportunities when presented so slowly but surely I feel like I’m on my way. Glad to know that I’m not alone. Let’s continue to be goal diggers 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

