Beauty and the Beast: Movie Review

The moment I found out that this movie was being made into a live action version, my inner child squealed! Beauty and the Beast is THE Disney movie I grew up on and is and will forever be my all time favorite. After watching it tonight in a packed theater, I think fell in love with it even more than I already am.

Beauty and the Beast was everything I had hoped it to be and more. The casting was spot on! Emma Watson was beautiful and brilliant as Belle. There was not a single actor in this film that I did not like. The in-depth to the storyline that highlighted the mystery of Belle’s mother was truly touching and interesting. The quick and witty humor of Lumierre and Cogsworth (and even Lefou) had me laughing more than I thought they would. The new songs, especially Evermore, were nice touches. The imagery was intense and stimulating. Be Our Guest was by far my favorite with all the colors and lights. 

(Side Note: I kept waiting for the delicious smell from Mickey’s Philharmagic in Disney World to be piped through the theater during Be Our Guest. Anyone else feel this way?)

There were some things I wasn’t keen on was at times it felt like some of the scenery lacked depth. I know, I just said I loved the imagery, but there were parts that were very movie set-esque. An example is when Belle is singing the Belle (Reprise) in the meadow. It was a little too obvious to me that it was on a set with digitally added scenery in the background. Also, the auto tune. I know that adjusting sound for songs can be necessary but Belle aka Emma Watson’s signing didn’t sound super natural at times. These are all things I can look past though because there were so many pros vs cons.

I’m literally on a post movie high from this film. I will say someone literally must have been chopping onions in the theater this entire movie because my eyes were constantly watering. I don’t know how one can see this film and not get a little emotional. There are a few scenes that really got me. I won’t say which so I don’t spoil too much.


But in all honesty, if you loved the animated version than you will love this one. It’s that good. I’m ready for round two!

Leave a Reply

